Procol Harum

the Pale 

PH on stage | PH on record | PH in print | BtP features | What's new | Interact with BtP | For sale | Site search | Home

Procol Harum • Grand Hotel

2018 double-CD reissue from Esoteric Records

Order from

Esoteric's press release offers the following details: Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce the release of an expanded 2 disc edition of the acclaimed Procol Harum album Grand Hotel. Released in March 1973 the album was the first to feature a line-up of Gary Brooker (piano, vocals), Alan Cartwright (bass), Chris Copping (organ), Mick Grabham (guitars) and BJ Wilson (drums) and was remarkable for its musical diversity and was hailed as 'A masterpiece of musical perfection and lyricism' by the NME weekly music paper. From the sumptuously orchestrated title track, to compositions such as For Liquorice John, Fires (Which Burnt Brightly), Bringing Home the Bacon, Toujours l'Amour and Robert's Box - Grand Hotel defied classification but remains one of Procol Harum's best loved and most admired works.

This expanded two disc edition includes five bonus tracks, (three previously unreleased), taken from the early recording sessions, along with a DVD (NTSC / Region Free) featuring a previously unreleased performance filmed for RTBF television in Belgium from November 1973. The release also features a replica of the book included with the original LP of Grand Hotel and a further lavishly illustrated booklet featuring material from Gary Brooker's personal archive and an essay by Procol Harum authority Roland Clare featuring comments from Gary Brooker.


Disc: 1 (CD)

  1. Grand Hotel

  2. Toujours l'Amour

  3. A Rum Tale

  4. TV Ceasar

  5. A Souvenir of London

  6. Bringing Home the Bacon

  7. For Liquorice John

  8. Fires (Which Burnt Brightly)

  9. Robert's Box

  10. Grand Hotel (without orchestra)

  11. Bringing Home rhe Bacon (raw track featuring Dave Ball)

  12. Toujours l’Amour (early version)

  13. Fires (Which Burnt Brightly) (early version)

  14. Robert's Box (early version)

Disc: 2 (DVD)

  1. Bringing Home the Bacon (RTBF TB, Belgium 1973 - DVD)

  2. Grand Hotel (Belgian TV as above)

  3. Fires (Which Burnt Brightly) (Belgian TV as above)

  4. A Salty Dog (Belgian TV as above)

  5. A Rum Tale (Belgian TV as above)

  6. Conquistador (Belgian TV as above)

  7. For Liquorice John (Belgian TV as above)

  8. Power Failure (Belgian TV as above)

  9. A Souvenir of London (Belgian TV as above)


Order from

Order from

About the original album | Review of this reissue | Another review

Read the liner-note essay

PH on stage | PH on record | PH in print | BtP features | What's new | Interact with BtP | For sale | Site search | Home